What are the sacraments?

The Sacraments are signs established by Christ that cause what they signify. They heal us from sin and plant, nourish or restore the life of grace in us. The Sacraments are:

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Eucharist
  • Confession
  • Anointing
  • Holy Orders
  • Marriage

The Sacraments make the power of the Paschal mystery of Jesus present to us for the sake of salvation. By these seven channels of grace, God makes us his adopted children and increases his life of grace within us. The Seven Sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith. Hence, there is a resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.


<  |   TOP  |   >

Our Lady of Lourdes: Silverdale Road, Arnside, LA5 0DX
Christ the King:15 Haverflatts Lane, Milnthorpe, LA7 7PS
St. Charles and St. Cuthbert:Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands, LA11 7EY
Telephone: 015395 32731
Designed by A2A Internet | Login